Calvin & Hobbes: All Grown Up

December 19, 2010

This was the end of Calvin. This was the end of undoubtably the greatest comic strip ever written. Now, I don’t read newspapers like I should (I feel like most other teenagers with hopes to be journalists would, but no, not me) but I do read Calvin and Hobbes.

He is brilliant, and satirical, and quotably funny in a oh so wonderfully childish way. I never read the in-paper comics, but I own (and love) the books. Calvin and his philosophies should combine to form a Bible of teachings to show the world that cartoons are legit, very legit.

Anyway, just as I watched Drake, Josh and the Rugrats become all grown up, through the window and the eyes of the internet, I watched Calvin grow up too. I knew I would find it depressing. It is hard to take a beloved child, age him, and not feeling a twinge of regret as you strip the kid of his innocence.

Well, thats undoubtably Susie Derkins (arch nemesis, of course, because girls are icky) with our grown up Calvin. In tow, is the plush version of Hobbes. Fueled by Calvin’s limitless imagination, Hobbes becomes an animated tiger. When others are around, we see Hobbes for what he isn’t (or what he is?), which is a toy tiger.

Here we find Calvin, Hobbes, and what seems to be a blond Susie (gasp!).

I feel like this is applicable to the current gaming obsession of teenage boys. I don’t really understand it, but then again, I’ve never really played it. I accept it though, I’ve had my obsessions over the years: Blockles, fruit snacks (that was a bad one) and monitoring Swine Flu to name a couple.

This is, unfortunately, the unofficial end of Calvin. If this had really been it, shit would have gone down. There is just no way. I would have gone into a state of denial and vow to never turn my back on a toy (thanks to Toy Story, I secretly believe toys come to life behind my back).

Calvin was an untapped source of brilliance because he looked at the world in a way only a kid can. I think as soon as you’re told whats important to the world, then you become sheltered by a lack of creativity.

Not creativity in the sense that you’re unable to build a better mousetrap or draw a pretty picture. Creativity in the sense that you’re world is your very own because of how you see it and create it, not how you’re told to see it. Calvin’s imagination showed us the flaws of our own. Calvin’s imagination showed us that we truly, don’t really have any.

That turned into more of a rant than it should have.

Oh well, happy Sunday.

♥ Natalie

 

One Response to “Calvin & Hobbes: All Grown Up”

  1. A O'Brien said

    did you know that there is another part to that comic strip? It is where hobbes as a toy says, well, here’s the link for the second part of it. http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_3wKKgQNZmTE/StDR–cSooI/AAAAAAAAKNU/9enI31sp_Es/s400/calvin_and_hobbes_off_ritalin.gif
    just copy and past that link. I am also a Calvin and Hobbes fan! I own every book and I’ve read them each a lot! This website is great! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

